wavelet Call for Papers

Wavelets X

Part of SPIE's Symposium on Optical Science and Technology

San Diego, CA, August 3-8, 2003

Conference Chairs
Michael Unser, EPFL, Switzerland
Akram Aldroubi, Vanderbilt University
Andrew F. Laine, Columbia University

Advance program

This conference provides a well established, high-quality forum for the presentation of results in wavelet theory and its applications. It distinguishes itself by a desire to break cross-disciplinary barriers, using wavelets as the common denominator. It is open to researchers in mathematics, signal and image processing, computer vision, medical imaging, physics, and more. It focuses on novel applications of wavelet-based signal analysis and processing methods, refinements of existing techniques, and new theoretical developments.

The upcoming event will celebrate the tenth anniversary of the conference. It will feature special presentations by leading researchers in the field. It will also promote discussions and reflections on the present and future state of wavelets.

Topics for submission may include (but are not limited to):

  • wavelet compression and coding algorithms
  • wavelet theory and multirate filterbanks
  • frames and over-complete representations
  • sparse representations and applications
  • wavelets in medical imaging
  • multiresolution algorithms
  • Gabor transforms and space-frequency localization
  • noise reduction and restoration
  • multiresolution surface representations and graphics
  • feature extraction and detection
  • wavelet texture analysis and segmentation
  • wavelets in visualization and computational geometry
  • wavelets and fractal analysis
  • multiscale random processes
  • wavelets and approximation theory
  • image representations from wavelet maxima or zero-crossings
  • complex wavelets

Plenary speakers

  • Ronald A. DeVore, Univ. South Carolina
  • David Donoho, Stanford, CA
  • Martin Vetterli, EPFL, Switzerland

Program Committee

  • Jean-Pierre Antoine, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
  • Richard G. Baraniuk, Rice University
  • John J. Benedetto, Univ. of Maryland/College Park
  • Thierry Blu, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Emmanuel Candes, California Institute of Technology
  • Albert Cohen, Université de Jussieu, Paris
  • Ingrid Daubechies, Princeton University
  • Ronald A. DeVore, Univ. South Carolina
  • Minh Do, University of Illinois
  • David Donoho, Stanford, CA
  • Hans G. Feichtinger, University of Vienna
  • Douglas P. Hardin, Vanderbildt University
  • Jelena Kovacevic, Lucent Technologies/Bell Labs
  • Jean-Marc Lina, University of Montreal
  • Stephane G. Mallat, Ecole Polytechnique (France)
  • François G. Meyer, Univ. of Colorado
  • Yves Meyer, ENS Cachan, France
  • Robert Nowak, Rice University
  • Naoki Saito, UC Davis
  • Thomas Strohmer, UC Davis
  • Bruno Torresani, Univ. de Provence, France
  • Martin Vetterli, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Yehoshua Zeevi, Technion, Israel

Abstract Due Date: 6 January 2003

Manuscript Due Date: 7 July 2003

Additional information

Electronic submission